Seeking Nominations for E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award & Business of the Year

E.C. Tatum

By Jeanna Baxter White
The Davie County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 2019 E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award and the 2019 Business of the Year Award which will be presented at the Chamber’s Annual Awards Gala on January 16th, 2020, at WinMock at Kinderton.

Do you know an unsung hero, someone who goes above and beyond to make our community a better place to live? Nominate them now for the 2019 E.C Tatum Humanitarian Award. Download the E.C. Tatum Nomination Form here.

This award is named in honor of E.C. Tatum, “A Man of Vision” who personified the commitment to community in Davie County for over thirty-five years. Each year the Chamber seeks nominations of candidates who embody the essence of Mr. Tatum through their volunteer and philanthropic efforts for the betterment of the Davie County community.

During his life of selfless service, E. C. Tatum, 1926-1995, ran a tree farm, taught agriculture in the school system, served on the Chamber of Commerce and Public Library boards, and was a member of the Cooleemee Baptist Church. Tatum chaired the Davie Futures strategic planning task force in 1987-1988. Upon his passing, the Davie County Chamber of Commerce established the E. C. Tatum Humanitarian Award in his honor.

Past recipients include:

1995 Terry Bralley
1996 James W. Wall
1997 J. Charles Dunn
1998 Calvin Ijames
1999 Helen C. Gantt
2000 Clyde Hendricks
2001 Perce Musselman
2002 John Barber
2003 Sarah Wood
2004 Dr. Francis W. Slate
2005 Carl Boon
2006 Belle D. Boger
2007 Brook & George Martin
2008 G. Allen Mebane, IV
2009 Marie Collins
2010 Helen Page Crenshaw
2011 Lillie Mabe
2012 Lynn Rumley
2013 Charles Markland
2014 Darrin L. Hartness
2015 Jane McAllister
2016 J. Russell Suggs, Jr.
2017 Michael T. Gunning
2018 Julius Suiter

Tom Wortham of the Hollingsworth Companies accepts the 2018 Business of the Year award from
Terry Bralley

Nominations Open for 2019 Business of the Year!
Local businesses are the lifeblood of our community. Show your support for your favorite business by nominating it now for the 2019 Business of the Year Award. Nomination form can be downloaded here.

Nominees must:

  • Be a Chamber member in good standing for at least a year. A list of qualifying businesses may be found at under the business directory tab.
  • Be a “for-profit” business.
  • Work for the betterment of Davie County through company or employee support and participation in the Chamber and other civic activities.
  • Demonstrates the highest business standards & ethics.
  • Possesses qualities to which other businesses aspire.
  • Have experienced a period of business successes, either financial or through growth, during the past year.

The DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS is Monday, December 2nd. Nomination forms may be faxed to  336.751.5697, emailed to, or mailed to 135 S. Salisbury Street, Mocksville, NC 27028. For more information, call (336) 751-3304.

Nominations for both awards will be reviewed by the Davie Chamber Board of Directors who will select the recipient.