Early Voting 2020 Has Begun

One-stop early voting in Davie County has begun, giving voters plenty of opportunities to cast their ballots for everything from the president of the United States to other federal, state, and local offices before the November 3rd election.

Early voting sites are the Brock Gym at 644 North Main Street, Cornerstone Christian Church at 1585 NC Hwy 801 North, and Jerusalem Volunteer Fire Department at 7185 NC Hwy 801 South. All are in Mocksville.  

The hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. – 7:30 p.m., Saturdays October 17th and 24th 8 a.m – 6 p.m. and Saturday, October 31st from 8 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Any registered voter in Davie County is welcome to visit one of these three sites. ID’s are not required. Citizens are encouraged to wear a face covering and to maintain a social distance of at least six feet. 

Voting on Election Day, November 3rd must be done at the assigned precinct. 

Local Contests

Only one local election is contested, the Davie County Board of Education, with five candidates seeking the four spots, including Republicans Paul Drechsler, Dwight Goodman, Wendy Horne, and Dub Potts, and one unaffiliated candidate, Cammie Paige Webb.

Republicans Mark Jones, Richard Poindexter, and Terry Renegar are running unopposed for re-election to the Davie County Board of Commissioners. 

Kelly Cozart Funderburk, a Republican, is unopposed in the race for Davie Register of Deeds.

Incumbent Republican Julia Howard of Mocksville is being challenged by Democrat Keith Townsend of Mt. Ulla for the N.C. House of Representatives 77th District.

Incumbent Republican Joyce Krawiec is being challenged by Democrat Terry Elizabeth LeGrand for the N.C. State Senate District 31 seat.

Richard Karriker is unopposed for the Davie Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisory Board.