Nominations for E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award & Business of the Year Open Now: Deadline Monday, November 30

The Davie County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 2021 E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award and the 2021 Business of the Year Award which will be presented at the State of Davie & Chamber Annual Meeting to be held in early Spring 2022 at WinMock at Kinderton.

Do you know an unsung hero, someone who goes above and beyond to make our community a better place to live?

Nominate them now for the 2021 E.C Tatum Humanitarian Award. Download the E.C. Tatum Nomination Form here.

This award is named in honor of E.C. Tatum, “A Man of Vision” who personified “commitment to your community” for over thirty-five years.

Each year the Chamber seeks nominations of candidates who embody the essence of Mr. Tatum through their volunteer and philanthropic efforts for the betterment of the Davie County community.

During his life of selfless service, E. C. Tatum, 1926-1995, ran a tree farm, taught agriculture in the school system, served on the Chamber of Commerce and Public Library boards, and was a member of the Cooleemee Baptist Church. Tatum chaired the Davie Futures Strategic Planning task force in 1987-1988.

Upon his passing, the Davie County Chamber of Commerce established the E. C. Tatum Humanitarian Award in his honor.

Chuck Taylor presents the 2020 E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award to Jane Simpson Photo credit: One Shot Photography.

Past recipients include:

  • 1995 Terry Bralley
  • 1996 James W. Wall
  • 1997 J. Charles Dunn
  • 1998 Calvin Ijames
  • 1999 Helen C. Gantt
  • 2000 Clyde Hendricks
  • 2001 Perce Musselman
  • 2002 John Barber
  • 2003 Sarah Wood
  • 2004 Dr. Francis W. Slate
  • 2005 Carl Boon
  • 2006 Belle D. Boger
  • 2007 Brook & George Martin
  • 2008 G. Allen Mebane, IV
  • 2009 Marie Collins
  • 2010 Helen Page Crenshaw
  • 2011 Lillie Mabe
  • 2012 Lynn Rumley
  • 2013 Charles Markland
  • 2014 Darrin L. Hartness
  • 2015 Jane McAllister
  • 2016 J. Russell Suggs, Jr.
  • 2017 Michael T. Gunning
  • 2018 Julius Suiter
  • 2019 Lee Rollins
  • 2020 Jane Simpson
Keith Beck presents the Davie County 2020 Small Business of the Year award to Todd Flummer and Elizabeth Wellman, owners of Computer Guys of CNS, Inc. Photo credit: One Shot Photography.

Nominations Open for 2021 Business of the Year!

Local businesses are the lifeblood of our community. Show your support for your favorite business by nominating it now for the 2021 Business of the Year Award. The nomination form can be downloaded here.

Nominees must:

  • Be a Chamber member in good standing for at least a year. A list of qualifying businesses may be found here under the business directory tab.
  • Be a “for-profit” business.
  • Work for the betterment of Davie County through company or employee support and participation in the Chamber and other civic activities.
  • Demonstrates the highest business standards & ethics.
  • Possesses qualities to which other businesses aspire.
  • Have experienced a period of business successes, either financial or through growth, during the past year.
Josh Hanes presents the Davie County 2020 Business of the Year award to Darin Redmon, DEX director of operations and Carey Hubbard DEX Advance, NC site manager. Photo credit: One Shot Photography.

Past recipients include:

  • 1995: Thomson Crown Wood  & Ketchie Creek Bakery 
  • 1996: Ingersoll-Rand & Gantt Personnel, Inc. 
  • 1997: Walmart & Mocksville Builders Supply
  • 1998: Vulcan Materials Company & Foster-Rauch Drug Co.
  • 1999: Le Bleu Corporation 
  • 2000: Christy Trucking Company, Inc.
  • 2001: VF Jeanswear
  • 2002: CCB – Central Carolina Bank
  • 2003: Eaton Funeral Service 
  • 2004: Webb Heating & Air Conditioning 
  • 2005: Venezia Italian Family Restaurant 
  • 2006: Carolina Drilling, Inc. 
  • 2007: Trailers of the East Coast
  • 2008: BB&T – Branch Banking & Trust
  • 2009: Anderson Aggregates, LLC 
  • 2010: Ingersoll Rand & RayLen Vineyards & Winery 
  • 2011: Avgol Nonwovens & Davie Farm Service/Southern States 
  • 2012: WinMock at Kinderton & Blakley Landscape Service 
  • 2013: Carolina Center for Eye Care
  • 2014: Twin City Soccer Association &  Small Business of the Year: Subway of Mocksville 
  • 2015: Johnson Insurance Services, Inc.
  • 2016: Davie Construction Co. 
  • 2017: Graham Funeral Home 
  • 2018: The Hollingsworth Companies & DavieLiFE Magazine
  • 2019: Fuller Architecture
  • 2020: DEX Heavy Duty Parts & Small Business of the Year: Computer Guys of CNS

Nominations for both awards will be reviewed by the Davie Chamber Board of Directors who will select the recipient.

The DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS is Monday, November 30th. Nomination forms may be faxed to  336.751.5697, emailed to, or mailed to 135 S. Salisbury Street, Mocksville, NC 27028. For more information, call (336) 751-3304.